Press Releases

Entasis Announces Appointments to its Scientific and Clinical Advisory Board

December 15, 2015 at 4:07 PM EST

WALTHAM, Mass. — December 15, 2015 — Entasis Therapeutics, a company leveraging its expertise and a unique pathogen-targeted approach to develop and advance novel antibacterials, today announced the formation of the company’s Scientific and Clinical Advisory Board, comprised of experts in infectious diseases. The Advisory Board will provide strategic guidance on Entasis’ pipeline of preclinical and clinical antimicrobial candidates for the treatment of serious infections caused by drug-resistant Gram-negative bacteria.

“The experts on our newly established advisory board will work closely with the management team to advance the company’s portfolio of novel antibiotics. They join us at a critical time, as we are completing the Phase 2 clinical trial of EXT0914 for uncomplicated gonorrhea and prepare to initiate clinical studies for our novel I.V. agent targeting serious Gram-negative infections,” said Manos Perros, Ph.D., President and Chief Executive Officer of Entasis. “This team of accomplished scientific and clinical leaders complements the expertise of the management team and will collaborate with us on our goal of bringing these new and critical therapies to patients while addressing the issue of antimicrobial resistance – a growing global healthcare crisis.”

Initial appointments to Entasis’ Scientific and Clinical Advisory Board:

Paul G. Ambrose, Pharm.D., F.I.D.S.A., is President of the Institute for Clinical Pharmacodynamics (ICPD), Latham, New York, and an Honorary Research Fellow in Infectious Diseases at the University of Oxford, Oxford, UK and Adjunct Associate Research Professor at the University at Buffalo, Buffalo, New York. Dr. Ambrose’s areas of scientific inquiry primarily involve anti-infective translational science, with the goal of improving patient care through the application of pharmacokinetic-pharmacodynamic (PK-PD) principles. Dr. Ambrose received his Pharm.D. from the University of the Pacific and completed a Post-Doctoral Fellowship in infectious diseases at Hartford Hospital.

Karen Bush, Ph.D., is a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology and a Professor of Practice in the biotechnology program in the Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology at Indiana University, where she is also an Adjunct Professor of Biology. She currently leads a small research group that evaluates new antibacterial agents and novel resistance mechanisms in carbapenem-resistant Enterobacteriaceae (CRE). Dr. Bush was involved with pharmaceutical research from 1973 to 2009, primarily working in the area of antibiotic drug discovery and development at Squibb (Bristol-Myers Squibb), Lederle (Wyeth), Astra and Johnson & Johnson Pharmaceutical Research & Development. She is especially known for her work on beta-lactamases. Dr. Bush was a member of research teams that served to discover and/or develop aztreonam, piperacillin-tazobactam, levofloxacin, doripenem and ceftobiprole. Dr. Bush received a Ph.D. in biochemistry from Indiana University.

Stanley A. Nasraway, Jr., M.D., M.C.C.M., is Professor of Surgery, Medicine, and Anesthesia at Tufts University School of Medicine and Director of the Surgical Intensive Care Units at the Tufts Medical Center in Boston. His interests are in sepsis and shock resuscitation, processes of care and outcomes research. In 2015, he completed a 2-center pilot study testing the utility of presepsin as a sepsis biomarker after enrolling 200 patients. He is a member of the Editorial Board for Critical Care Medicine, a master of the American College of Critical Care Medicine, and a fellow of the American College of Physicians and the American College of Chest Physicians. Dr. Nasraway received his M.D. from Keck School of Medicine of the University of Southern California.

Mark Noe, Ph.D., is Vice President of the Groton Center of Chemistry Innovation, an interdisciplinary department comprised of structural biology, analytical chemistry, synthesis technology, experimental design and computational analysis supporting Worldwide Medicinal Chemistry. In addition to his scientific leadership, Dr. Noe leads a number of supporting teams within Pfizer Research and Development, including Academic and Industry Relations for the chemistry discipline. He serves on multiple external scientific advisory panels for both academia and the biotechnology industry. Dr. Noe received his Ph.D. in organic chemistry from Harvard University.

Brad Spellberg, M.D., is Chief Medical Officer at the Los Angeles County-University of Southern California (LAC+USC) Medical Center and Professor of Clinical Medicine and Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs at the Keck School of Medicine at USC. His NIH-funded research interests are diverse, ranging from basic immunology and vaccinology, to pure clinical and outcomes research, to process improvement work related to delivery of care, focusing on safety net hospitals. Dr. Spellberg is currently working on the immunology, vaccinology, and host defense against highly resistant Gram-negative bacilli, including Acinetobacter and carbapenem-resistant Enterobacteriaceae infections. Dr. Spellberg has worked extensively with the Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA) to attempt to bring attention to the problems of increasing drug resistance and decreasing new antibiotics. Dr. Spellberg received his M.D. from the David Geffen School of Medicine at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) and completed his residency in internal medicine and subspecialty fellowship in infectious diseases at Harbor-UCLA Medical Center.

About Entasis Therapeutics Inc.

Entasis Therapeutics is developing a portfolio of innovative cures for serious drug-resistant bacterial infections, a global health crisis affecting the lives of millions of patients. Our deep pipeline of novel clinical and preclinical antibacterial programs is designed to revolutionize the way physicians treat serious bacterial diseases.

Company Contact

Chris White
Entasis Therapeutics
(781) 810-0114

Media Contact
Julia Ogier
MacDougall Biomedical Communications
(781) 235-3060